What Is The Most POWERFUL Car You Ever Owned?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Jeffsiamese

Legend
What Is The Most POWERFUL Car You Ever Owned?

Yo guys, 

This topic has been discussed many times before - but this time it's a little bit different.

I'm not talking about the fastest, sexiest, most luxurious, or fancy brand of car you've owned. I'm talking about which one, when you hit the pedal at the green light, did the most spectacular damage to the pavement you've ever experienced.

I'm a writer and about to get a tad windy - but bear with me, please.

Over my lifetime of fifty years, I've owned a lot of cars. Likely the highest brand I've owned was a Porsche 911. The most luxurious, I'd say, would go to my old Mercedes sedan. The best handling, undoubtedly, was my bright red Corvette ZR-1. I also loved my Mazda RX-7 - that little bugger was a joy to whip around with on out-of-the-way country roads - preferably with a really great cassette in the stereo.

But, the most sheerly, rawly powerful...

Back in 1968, my Grandpa bought a brand new, fresh from the showroom, Oldsmobile Delta 88/Custom. It was in the ugliest color imaginable - kind of like bile-green buzzard vomit. I hated riding in it - not just because of it's looks but partly the fact my Grandpa would drive like a Grand​ma. Ugly freakin' thing, it seemed to me.

At the time.

When I finally turned 16 and got my license, in 1979, my parents wouldn't let me borrow one of their own cars. They always said "Go down and ask Pops" ... our nickname for my Grandpa. We are a very tightly knit family, and tend not to stray far from each other, so it was only three running blocks away.

Whenever I got there, I would first ask him for his Mustang - a gorgeous blue thing. Then, when he said "Nope", I asked for his cool new Chevy pickup. "Nope".